Still no sprint


However, there is a continuation! Huzzah!

Check out this post if you’re feeling a little bit lost.

More background on this story: The turn that I mentioned last week? Well, this somehow turned into a Harry Potter off shoot. In America. During current-ish times.

I got a little bit a head of myself at one point, and spent two or three late nights on the Harry Potter Wiki. That was a bad idea. To save myself from going crazy with it, I shelved it. I may go back and continue it on a for fun basis; I had a really great villain shaping up.

Anyways, the exciting, almost conclusion of my creepy dream!

(side note: I have craziness going on this weekend, so there may not be an update for Saturday.)

I panicked, and scurried as quietly as I could to follow behind him. I saw no trace of him as I peeked inside the cabin, not even a trace of dirt on the floor. From my vantage point, I could see perfectly into the main room where the chanting was coming from. To my surprise, I recognized the woman sitting in the middle of the room: it was Lisa Bostik.

I could scarcely believe my eyes; she was on the research team with me. I quietly climbed inside and stood up straight. This wasn’t at all like Lisa, well at least from what I could tell from work. The times I worked with her, she was quiet, but in our daily research meetings, she proved to be incredibly brilliant.

I quietly crawled inside the cabin, praying with each creaking board that Lisa wouldn’t turn around. As I crept closer, I was intent on getting a better view of what was going on. The room looked nothing like my imagination had fathomed. Only five large candles were in the room, all of them surrounding Lisa. There was no animal skulls, graffiti on the walls, or blood spilled anywhere. Other than the candle wax, the room was perfectly clean.

Beneath my foot, one of the boards creaked loudly. Lisa’s chanting immediately stopped, and she whipped around to see me half-crouching in the doorway to the main room.

“Lisa, what the hell?” I demanded, straightening myself upright. With inhuman speed, she pounced on me.

“Get out!” she screeched, as I tried to shield myself from her clawing. The fact that I weighed more than she did was my saving grace, which allowed me to repel Lisa backwards, sending her to the floor.

“What the hell is wrong with you?” I shouted at her, as she scrambled to stand and charged at me again. I dug my heels in and caught her by her wrists before she could try to claw my eyes out again.

“Get out!” Lisa screeched again, fighting hard to reach me. I never imagined that a bookworm like Lisa could hold her own against me. Then I noticed her eyes; instead of their usual color, a milky film covered her eyes, washing out her normal brown color. “Miserable idiot!” she shrieked as I stumbled backwards and into the second room. “You’re ruining everything!”

Using the weight of Lisa’s attack in my favor, I stepped to one side, letting her fall face forward on to the wooden floor. Lisa let out a small whimper of pain, as she tried to recover from her fall.

“This shit stops now,” I snapped, leaving her on the floor as I headed into the secondary room. The table that held recreated tools, used by slaves the Bell family owned, now contained a small cauldron complete with a bubbling substance, and several small glass vials filled with strange colored liquids. Irritated by the events of the evening, I gently tilted the table, sending its contents crashing to the floor.

I returned the table to its proper place, and then snatched the fire extinguisher from the wall. Pulling the safety pin out, I squeezed the trigger, and put out the candles with one fell swoop.

“What did you do?” Lisa demanded weakly, suddenly appearing in the doorway. She was leaning heavily against the doorframe and breathing heavily, as if she had just taken the beating of her life. “You’ve ruined everything…”

“I’ve ruined everything?” I snapped back as my eyes adjusted to the darkness. “You nearly burned down a surviving slave cabin with your stupid ritual!” I resisted the urge to throw the fire extinguisher at her. “Do you know how much money we would be out if this place burned down?” Lisa just shook her head weakly.

“Miserable…idiot…” she hissed quietly, her knees giving out. I dropped the fire extinguisher and rushed to try to catch her, but Lisa hit the floor with a thump.

“Lisa!” I rolled her unconscious body over to one side and checked for signs of life. She was still breathing, her pulse was weak, but she was still alive. Panicking, I pulled out my cell phone to dial for help. I pressed the call button, and my phone kindly informed me that it had a low battery and immediately shut itself off. “FELIX!” I screamed in desperation. “FELIX! HELP!” Adjusting Lisa’s body accordingly, I made a poor attempt to lift her from the floor. I took a mental note in my head that it was harder to lift dead weight than to support friends that were inebriated.

“’E can’t hear you, darlin’,” I looked around the cabin frantically, but saw no one.

“Well then you get over here and help me!” I snapped, turning my attention back to Lisa, double checking her vital signs; they were unchanged.

“I ain’t helpin’ no-one,” Angry, I looked up and found myself facing a deranged looking Bob Ewell standing a meter away from me. He was a little bit taller than I was, wearing stained denim coveralls, a sweat soaked white shirt, and a frayed straw hat. “I ‘specially won’t help a nosey Nancy.” He drawled. My eyes traveled down to his hands, and the large wood cutting axe he held casually at his side. “I gotta nip you in the bud,” he said, walking towards me, “like Missus Lizzie nipped her family tree.”

“FELIX!” I screamed again, frozen in place by terror.

“’E can’t hear you,” the farmer repeated with deadly calm, taking the axe in both his hands, “and noisy trees gotta be pruned.” I tried to scream as he raised his axe, but nothing came out. As he brought it down towards my head, everything moved in slow motion.

I squeezed my eyes shut, waiting for the inevitable. “Accio axe!” my eyes shot open to see the axe fly out of the deranged farmer’s hands and plant itself in the wall a few centimeters away from Felix’s head. “That’s not what I had planned,” he muttered, trying to shake off the near death experience.

“Who the hell ‘er you?” the farmer demanded. Felix proudly pointed his perfectly straight twig at the farmer.

“Felix Dodderidge,” He announced proudly “auror for the Ministry of Magic!” What? Was he serious?

“Auror?” the Bob Ewell look alike laughed loudly. “Boy, t’ain’t no such thing out here!”

Skurge!” A jet of blue bubbles shot out from the end of the twig, hitting the farmer. He screamed loudly in pain, and disappeared quickly into thin air. Felix let out a loud breath of air, running his free hand through his puffy hair before he finally noticed me.

“What… the… hell?” I asked, feeling extremely dumbfounded by what I had just witnessed.

“Oh, dear,” he muttered, joining me at Lisa’s side. “Did you notice anything strange about her?” He asked, checking her pulse. I couldn’t say anything, but stare at Felix in disbelief. “Now is not the time to question what you just saw!” he said loudly, snapping me back to reality. “Did you notice anything strange about her?” he asked again.

“Her eyes were weird,” I said. Felix gently opened one of Lisa’s eyes, but her eyes were back to normal.

“Like a milky film that distorted the color?” he asked.

“Yeah,” I answered weekly.

“Badly performed imperious curse,” he muttered.

“A what?” I asked deliriously.

“Was that out loud?” He asked incredulously. “Oh dear, I shouldn’t have said that.”

“What the hell are you talking about?” I demanded. Felix waved me off as gently tapped Lisa’s body with his twig.

“Don’t worry about it,” he brushed me off, easily lifting Lisa’s body off the wooden floor. “I’ll have to modify your memory after this, so the less I have to explain the better.” I stared at Felix in horror.

“What the hell is going on?” I tried to keep from screaming at him.

“That’s exactly what we would like to know.” Behind us, several men in suits had suddenly appeared. “We got your signal Dodderidge, what’s the emergency?”

“A goddamn crazy man with an axe, that’s the damn emergency!” I yelled. “What the hell is going on? Where did y’all come from?” The suits looked at me strangely, and then turned to Felix.

“Muggle casualty,” he said innocently, motioning towards me, “along with this girl here. Poorly performed imperious curse, I’m afraid.”

“Give her to Simmons,” the lead suit ordered, “he’ll get her straightened out.”

One comment on “Still no sprint

  1. […] if you missed those last two posts, Part 1 and Part 2. Off you […]

What do you think?

